Oh my yuuuummmm!

I can’t believe I’m about to type this but I’ve found my new love, Liver Pâté. Now before you gag, write off the possibility of even thinking about the stuff bare with me. I’m not huge on different foods. Ok I lie I’m addicted to my kefir and boocha and eat spirulina by the spoonful but never in my wildest dreams did I ever think I’d eat let alone make liver pâté. My dad would be proud.

So maybe now you are curious. Thinking maybe it’s not that bad because in reality it’s got the taste of amazing (well my recipe does) and the consistency of a smooth hummus.

Try it, pretend it’s not what it is (as my husband says to me while eating a whole bowl full)

Liver Pâté

500g chicken livers or duck. (Look for deep colours) trim any white bits and rinse and dry.
2 TbS butter (organic grass fed- low in sodium)
2-3tsp of thyme leaves
1tsp chives
2-3tsp of Dijon Mustard
2 TbS Port
Himalayan salt and fresh cracked black pepper

Melt 1 of the TbS of butter in pan. Add thyme for 30 sec.
Add livers (be careful they pop and splatter) and chives.
Cook on med-high so they brown and get crispy outer.
Mix port and Dijon
Add mix and other TbS of butter and cook for 5 mins.
The liquid will halve.

Add everything from pan to food processor. Mix on high for a few mins until it’s smooth. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Transfer to bowl to cool or divide into ramekins for portions.

Pâté can be frozen.

I had mine for breakfast this morning with a hard boiled egg, fresh tomato and avocado. And of course with my green smoothie.

20131102-085031.jpg

Leave a Reply

