Food for thought………

_MG_2474

Image: Sarah Craven Photography

Whether I’m off to the city, working from home or just in a rush it’s important to still eat a good meal.

Lot’s of ‘healthy’ eaters get criticised for the foods they eat…..’you’re not eating enough’ ‘that doesn’t look filling’ the statements could fill a whole blog post. But in reality the foods that we choose to eat reflect our lifestyle, our habits and how we function in general. The world has a huge issue with portion control. Look at dinner plate sizes, they have doubled since the 1950’s and hence so has our waistlines.

 

I’m a huge advocate on making sure that you’re fridge is full of nutritious fruits and vegetables so that when it comes to eating at whatever time of the day or night the choices are easier to make and healthier. I’m a busy mum. I travel a lot so I have to be prepared. Yes we menu plan for the week, each night I spend time in the kitchen organising the following days food for everyone. But I have found with practise and trial and error food is the least of my concern with busy times.

Every week I get orders from my family on what they want to eat and we spend time as a family preparing these meals, cooking together on a Sunday. I’ve mentioned our family staple meals numerous times and most people will argue that it’s just not practical to be that prepared or organised and that’s fine; if you are eating a well balanced diet are fit and healthy then kudos to you, tell me your secrets!

On days when I work from home it’s like the world is my oyster. I get to open my fridge and create a masterpiece from the contents. We are lucky that we eat a well rounded variety of food and that fussy eaters no longer exist but I guess my point before I bore the life out of you is that having dietary restrictions (by personal choice or by health reasons) doesn’t have to be hard and you can eat restaurant standard foods, take away standard foods, any foods you want if you are prepared.

 

 

Here is a checklist to help you get started.

 

1. Have one roast minimum a week (the meat you get for lunches will see you through days)

i) Chicken, beef, pork, duck, lamb (although $$$ at the moment)

2. Buy fresh produce once a week to last the week (yes I have three lettuces, 2kg of zucchini’s but I never run out)

3. Grow your own produce (as much or as little as you want)

4. Buy bulk wholefoods (online bulk foods is less expensive and after 2-3 orders you know the quantities you need for the month)

5. Talk to your butcher (get to know your meat. Buy bulk and freeze, it’s so convenient)
6. Invest in chooks or buy enough eggs. Three doz does our family and it is the best ‘takeaway’ to whip up some BELT’s

7. Make a bolognaise or casserole or soup to portion and freeze or use for the week with the roast meat (pictured above sautéed veggies in miso with bolognaise)

8. Share recipes with friends, experiment, get the kids involved in the kitchen, look for the most efficient method of cooking. (slow cooker, pressure cooker, food processor)

9. Buy a Thermomix (but don’t think you can’t do all this without one because I still don’t own one)

10. Plan, plan, plan- you go to work in the hours you’re set, you’re a mum or dad in the hours you set. It’s like fitting in exercise I always say ‘if you plan for it to happen then it will’

 

Fall in love with food. It’s the most important part of your life. You can ab crunch, run, lift weights do yoga, meditate but remember 80% of your wellbeing is food and only 20% is from how you look after your body physically.

 

 

 

Over the next month or so I will be incorporating more and more realfood advice as winter can either make or break people and I want to educate and support as many people as I can and inspire others to change their eating, investigate their health and set themselves up for a healthy summer ahead.

 

Also Fermentation workshops are still going ahead. Please see Facebook for more info and to register your interest. The workshop will be held at the end of May start of June depending on numbers. Cost $40 per person and includes demo’s on kombucha, vegetables, kefir, probiotics, wild fermentation and a variety of recipes. Take home your very own Kombucha Scoby, starter culture for lacto-fermentation of vegetables and sample some nourishing gut healing foods.

Leave a Reply

