Five Minute Meals

Time….What Time?!

As a mum & a photographer,  some days I have so much time on my hands to play and some days I can’t even scratch myself. Most days I’m prepared for anything, I’m a planner, I like routine and have everything in it’s place….another word for anal or strict?!
In the way of food it’s so easy to grab something convenient and easy when you’re not prepared, right?! A sandwich, a slice, a pie, wrap?! Why not, it’s convenient! Well you could do that or you could think a little broader and look in your fridge. I’ll admit that was me. I grabbed wraps (just one gluten thing won’t hurt) and sandwiches. A little education and having an organised shopping list every week now I can say my wraps are a little different and my sandwiches are non-existent instead it’s five-minute chopping, throwing anything into a bowl, pan…..I can even vouch and say that even if you’re not ‘home’ for lunch it’s easy. Days I’m not organised with the family I can throw the spouse a salad (left over veg, meat, salad leaves etc) my cherub a platter of whatever we have in the fridge, nuts, seeds, kale, fruit…..if you’re out then you’re not far from a supermarket, grocer, fruit and vegetable shop. A good friend and personal trainer taught me that a bag of spinach, a carrot, cucumber, roast chook, tin of sardines, tuna and some oil and nuts make a nutritious meal.

Here’s a go to recipe for days you home and look into the fridge with a blank stare and think ‘life would me easier if you just ate bread’

_MG_2984

5 MINUTE STIR FRY
vegetarian, vegan, paleo friendly, low FODMAP, grain free
one person dish- adjust quantities for more

1 Tbsp. Coconut Oil
1/2 Tbsp. miso paste (a good one from an asian shop, no msg or make your own)
1/2 tsp. grated ginger
1/2 tsp. grated turmeric
3 Brussel sprouts
huge handful spinach leaves
1/2- 1 zucchini spiralized or peeled into ribbons (I had half on the bench from breakfast)
handful chopped mushrooms
2 asparagus spears
palm size broccoli florets
1 Tbsp. water

1. In a wok or pan heat coconut oil, ginger, turmeric and miso.
2. Add mushrooms, Brussel sprouts, broccoli and asparagus and sauté for a few minutes
3. Add spinach and zucchini and water and sauté for a couple more minutes.
4. Find a bowl, chop sticks, a quiet corner and enjoy a bowl of nourishment.
Add some lacto-fermented vegetables, some leftover meat, bacon, prawns, sardines,tuna or egg with fresh coriander and sesame seeds to serve.

Make this before work and take it with you. You can only be as prepared as you let yourself to be. Look after your body and it will reward you.

sig

One thought on “Five Minute Meals”

Leave a Reply

