Slooooow Cooked Mexican Beef

It’s winter so that means that it is officially time to break out the slow cooking. Perfect for time poor, perfect for all meats.

I want to share one of my favourite recipes that I kind of made up  and that I have used for many cuts of meats. I own a cast iron pot, 2 actually (my all time favourite kitchen item) I love them. They cook everything to perfection. I also have a slow cooker and it has now taken place on the bench for what will be a nourishing winter.

I would recommend Beef Osso Buco cuts or any other secondary cut of meat like Blade. Speak to your butcher about what meats are best for slow cooking and stock up for winter cooking

Mexican Slow Cooked Beef

beef_slowcooked

paleo, primal. low FODMAP, grass-fed, Mexican

PREPARATION TIME       TOTAL TIME
10 MINUTES             3.5 HOURS

Feeds a family of four with sides included
Pre-heat oven to 135c

 

INGREDIENTS

600g Blade Steak (or as I suggested above)
6 small-medium tomatoes quartered

300ml bone broth
1 cup of chopped mushrooms
1 zucchini chopped

1 Tbsp. Coconut Oil

2 Tbsp. Tomato Paste
Mexican Inspired Spice Mix
2 tbsp. cumin powder

1 tbsp. smoked paprika

1 tsp ground turmeric

1 tsp. Himalayan salt

1 tsp. cardamom

1 tsp. coriander

½ tsp. cloves (or 3-4 whole)
1 star anise
 

INSTRUCTIONS
1. Heat Coconut Oil in Pan

2. Add Beef and cook on high to seal and brown on either side

3. Add quartered tomatoes and stir to combine (I moved my tomatoes to be under the meat)

4.In a bowl or jar combine broth and tomato paste, add to pan and bring to boil

5. Add spice mix and slowly mix through broth
6. Add mushrooms and zucchini

7. Place lid on pan and pop in preheated oven for 3 hours

8. Check meat- it will fall apart when you scrape with a fork. If not it’s not quite done.

The meat will be tender, melt in your mouth and have so much flavour.
I cooked mine the day before I needed it so I popped it in the fridge in it’s pan and on the next day I added ½ cup of bone broth to it, placed it on a low temperature on the stove and cooked it again.

You could also add chilli cayenne pepper to the spice mix or if cooking twice I added fresh chopped chillies and some fresh coriander and oregano.

Serve with traditional corn tortillas and all the Mexican trimmings.

Our Mexican sides include;
Raw carrot
Raw zucchini
Cucumber
Capsicum
Tomato
Lettuce
Fermented Jalapeno’s
Culture added Guacamole
Homemade Salsa
Coconut Kefir Cream
Fermented Ninja Ginger Carrots and Sauerkraut
Mexican food is nourishing and you can get creative with cooked and raw vegetables, using lettuce and cabbage leaves to wrap and different types of meats using the same spice mix and cooking (just be careful of bones in a whole chicken when slow cooking).

 

It’s a hands down favourite night in our house.

Leave a Reply

