Snacks

The Controversial Snack Debate

 

_MG_3116
Β©sarahcravenphotography

When you live a healthy lifestyle you get asked all the time ‘how do you do it?’ or ‘are you ever naughty with food?’ The answer to the first one for me is ‘it was hard at first then it just got easier and more beneficial’. The second for me ‘well life would be pretty boring if we weren’t naughty, I just make good decisions for myself and my family’. It’s about balance and living….gosh is it about living. My life has pretty much been about food and the porcelain chamber so when I started to work out what was good for me I started living. And now, well it’s my way of life, it’s not hard, it’s easier, it does have it’s bad days and moments where I ask why don’t I just DO IT and eat the stuff that inflames my insides and causes a multitude of problems because it’s convenient. Same with my daughter. It’s easy to judge when looking in but as much as the arguments are out there against kids living a healthy lifestyle the benefits far outweigh the ramifications of ‘sugar highs’ ‘inflammation’ ‘behavioural Β and mood problems’ and internal and topical sensitivities’

So what’s balance?
Balance for me is eating proteins, carbs and good fats. We don’t skimp on food, I need a lot of it to keep up with energy demands. I do choose good foods. My daughters lunchbox looks different to other kids, sure she’ll have problems with judgement and being ‘different’ but she’s educated and loves her food.

So what’s balance?
Balance of the naughty kind is raw choc bites, banana nicecream blends, cacavo mousse, nuts, seeds, goji berries, coconut meat. It’s a treat for us and we have it daily I won’t deny that.

Today is movie day, we usually have Kale, Sweet Potato, Eggplant and Zucchini Chips; today we’re having Cheesy Popcorn. Move over Cinema Popcorn…..that’s all I can say.

_MG_3099
Cheesy Popcorn

Cheesy Popcorn

INGREDIENTS
1/2 Cup Popcorn kernels popped in an air popper or on the stove with a heated Tbsp. Coconut Oil (lid on)

1 Tbsp. Ghee
1 Tbsp. Nutritional Yeast Flakes
1/2 tsp. Sea Salt
1/2 tsp. Turmeric Powder

INSTRUCTIONS
1.Heat ghee and mix through yeast, salt and turmeric.
2.Leave to cool slightly (or else your popcorn will shrivel)
3.Drizzle over popcorn and enjoy.

You can also do this with cauliflower to avoid the ‘corn’ aspect but that’s not as naughty I guess.

 

Caramel Popcorn

INGREDIENTS
Cooked Popcorn Kernels (as above)
1/4 Cup Coconut Oil
1/4 Cup Maple Syrup
INSTRUCTIONS
1.Heat Coconut Oil and Maple Syrup
2.Set aside for 5-10 minutes.
3.Pour into a jar and shake for a few minutes until opaque
4.Drizzle over popcorn
5.Pop into freezer for 5 minutes

Leave a Reply

