Lotsa Laksa

A hit of chilli in the chilly weather

 

_MG_3600_cropped

 

I am all over this winter thing at the moment. I love the cold cold and I love the hot hot. Apart from running in 1c winter is my season. One reason I love winter….chilli. I love hot food and I am lucky in a way that my gut is in a good state to enjoy a good hit of heat every so often.

This week I decided to turn my traditional Thai Green Curry into a Laksa. I never really knew what a Laksa really was but I realise that I have been eating them for some time now.

With the use of fish broth and some amazing gelatinous bone broth I created a beautiful fish curry soup packed with vegetables. I slow cooked mine in my cast iron pot in the oven, but it is a great quick dish or you could use a slow cooker. The house smelt amazing!!! And to top it off it’s a great week-long dish too, I had it with salad,  with a side of greens, for breakfast and in a wrap. Food is so versatile, it’s amazing how far you can stretch one dish into so many more exciting taste bud adventures (yes I know I harp on food sustainability……give the recipe already!!!)

 

A Lotta Laksa

Preheat oven to 150c
PREPARATION TIME       TOTAL TIME
20 MINUTES             1-3 HOURS

INGREDIENTS
1 side of Snapper (not sure on weight but I’m guessing 1 kg’s of fish) You could also use chicken, salmon, any white fish, pork, duck etc
2 Carrots
1 Large Zucchini
1 Eggplant
Green beans (I didn’t measure but it’s usually a sizeable handful)
Half a broccoli
Quarter of  Head of Cauliflower
1 Small Sweet Potato cubed
*onion and garlic for non fodmapper’s
1 Tbsp Coconut Oil

Paste
1 tbsp cumin
2 lemon grass sticks (soft inside diced)
1 tbsp fresh ginger grated
1 tsp turmeric powder (I used that and some freshly grated too for a change)
1 tsp coriander
2 small red chillies
2 large green chillies

600ml Bone Broth (fish broth or chicken)
Top of the can of coconut cream (place in refrigerator for an hour then scoop of thicker top, reserve liquid for smoothies)
1 Tbsp Fish Sauce

I added 1 tbsp of concentrated chicken broth and extra water towards end to make it into the soupy laksa. It set wonderfully cold too, so when heating returns to a Laksa. mmmmm

INSTRUCTIONS

1.Mix paste ingredients together (a coffee grinder is perfect for this) if not a mortar and pestle, food processor or blender.

2. In a pan heat oil
3. Add vegetables (apart from beans and broccoli) and saute (add onion and garlic first if using)
4. Add paste and mix through vegetables
5. Add Broth, Coconut Cream and Fish Sauce and bring to simmer
6. Place whole portion of fish on top of vegetables
**7. Place lid on pan and slow cook in oven for 2 hours
8. Remove from oven and add Broccoli and Beans, replace lid and leave for 10 minutes before serving.
**To eat now
7. Chop fish into cubes and add to pan, simmer for 10 minutes or until fish flakes away
8. Add extra broth and beans and broccoli and simmer until broccoli is al dante
**Slow cooker
7. Cook on desired setting for amount of hours you have available.
8. Add Beans and Broccoli 10 minutes before serving. Set to high for this period of time.

Serve with fresh Coconut Cream Kefir, Coriander, Extra Chilli and choose between some ‘zoodles’ or kelp noodles to add some fun to the dish.

Leftovers are seriously underrated!!!

 

Leftover Laksa Salad
Leftover Laksa Salad

 

Leave a Reply

