Supporting Local Growers & Farmers

REPOSTING from last year…….

 

This is a huge passion of mine! Whether you are living in a big city, country town or something in between…support the local producers.  A while ago I convinced my husband to come grocery shopping with me in a supermarket. I had him do most of the shopping while I pushed as I wanted him to see what we bought. At the end of the shop we were behind a family with an overflowing trolley filled with foods that I would not want anyone in my family consuming. Hubs watched them go through (most likely thanking god that we only have one child) and their total was $126, then it was our turn. Half a trolley of vegetables and meat later and our total exceeded the family in front; $150. He was blown away and I caught him saying ‘how can a family eat crap for less?’ I told him commercial food from big supermarkets are cheap. A family assorted pack of biscuits for arguments sake is half the price of a tub of strawberries, it’s a shame really.
The following week I took my hubs to the market where I buy all my vegetables and whatever else I can. Once again I gave him the money and free reign to purchase the weeks worth of fruit and veg. Three green bags later and we’d spent $30. A stop at the butcher $30 and an order of organics from health food shop ($100 for the month) and we were in front by $50. He was so happy and relieved the exercise paid off.

vegetables EGGS

Since then he has told half a dozen mates that exact story in hope that they will stop shopping at the chains and start buying local. It is sad and disgraceful that supermarkets (even the ones that are the cheapest) continue to have people spend too much money on crap let alone fresh produce. But it is uplifting and so so satisfying to find local suppliers that are half the price, great quality and people you can trust.

Think Local before you enter the supermarket next time..

 

FARMERS’ FEED

This month is at Farmers Feed they are setting a challenge to shop and eat from your local farmers market for a whole week. Register to commit and see the savings, education and the overall feeling of eating REAL seasonal foods that are grown/raised by the seller.

Check out where your local market is.

 

Leave a Reply

