Smoothie Bowls

Ok I’ll admit it…..I’m addicted to smoothie bowls. I don’t know whether I need therapy or an intervention or whether it’s ok for me to seriously obsess over creating bowls of awesomeness (if I do say so myself) everyday – or there about.

My favourite at the moment would have to be a ginger and cinnamon flavoured one as it is cold here at the moment and to help with my lack of blood flow I’m at least trying to make an effort to reduce inflammation with these inclusions. I have also gone from frozen to room temp bowls. Slowly but surely I will transition from them but this creative obsession is too fun…..at least it’s a healthier obsession!?

Here is my idea of a smoothie bowl and why I include the things I do to keep me healthy, balanced and nourished from the get go (or be it lunch or dinner….sssshhhhh don’t tell the coach)

My Winter Smoothie Bowl

smoothie_bowl

PREPARATION TIME                   TOTAL TIME
2 MINUTES                          5 MINUTES

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 frozen banana (I peel, cut mine into quarters and pop into freezer so there’s always options for smoothies, nana ice-cream or a quick snack)
  • 1/4 cup frozen blueberries (I buy organic frozen berries or freeze fresh when in season)
    knob of ginger root
  • 1 tsp ground good quality cinnamon (yes the supermarket ones are not that good)
  • 1 tsp maca powder (lady hormone help)
  • 1 tsp slippery elm bark powder (helps digestion and is a great thickener)
  • 1 tsp of fibre/ omega 3 mix (I mix psyllium husks, flax seeds and chia seeds and pop in jar and scoop out to get a rounded selection of boost – this is also a great alternative to making chia pudding if you don’t want to overload on chia every time)
  • 200ml filtered water (you could use homemade almond milk or coconut water or coconut milk but I prefer to help my daily water intake as much as I can)
  • 1/4 avocado (it’s important to include good fats with your smoothie bowl like avocado as it helps to balanceΒ the sugars that you are consuming through the fruits)

*optional (I add to mix up the flavours 1 tsp cacao, 1 tsp turmeric, basil leaves, mint leaves, 1 tsp acai powder, Β 2 strawberries, Β 1 Tbsp fresh cut pineapple, 1 tsp spirulina/ super greens mix, knob of zucchini/cucumber, sprig of watercress, 1 tsp unhulled toasted tahini. Anything really to change it up and get your taste buds loving yourself.

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. add all ingredients to a blender
  2. 2 blend on high for 2 minutes
  3. rest for 1 minute
  4. blend on high again for one minute
  5. Pour into bowl, top with a small selection of nuts and seeds (TIP- chop them they stretch further. I chop a selection and keep to add to meals, then I am not over consuming and regretting it half an hour later)
  6. Pour over a drizzle of coconut kefir or unsweetened coconut yoghurt or make your own with a good starter (avoid using commercial yoghurt to culture)
  7. add a sprinkle of coconut, cacao nibs, goji berries or whatever you have to add a little antioxidant, taste, texture and little surprises
  8. mix it all through the smoothie mix
  9. eat slowly, chew through it even if its liquidy please.

    NOTES- why I choose a smoothie bowl over a smoothie
    *Drinking a smoothie is not as satisfying (to me). It’s rushed, you can over consume and end up hungry an hour later. By adding texture like nuts, seeds, berries etc you are forced to chew and that aids digestion, satisfies your taste buds, your brain and your belly.
    *It forces you to sit down and eat (yes I know we don’t all have time) you will be fuller by eating slower and concentrating.
    *You can take it anywhere in a jar
    *You can prepare it the night before
    *It’s healthy
    *It gives me enough to get through until lunchtime. By including the above it is a rounded balance (for me) of the right things to keep me energised, happy and full until I call for lunch.

Leave a Reply

