Cinnamon Scrolls

mmmmmm cinnamon cooking is amazing. I think I consume it more than I consume coconut oil- actually I consume it with coconut oil every time ha!

It’s a fabulous spice and has amazing powers that fight inflammation, digestion and bad moods. We add it to smoothies, milks, chocolate, cakes, savoury meals, kombucha, tea, everything we can.
I wanted to make a not so sweet treat for my possum this week that I knew would be an ok, sometimes thing. She loves biscotti’s so I decided to create a biscotti/scroll type thing whilst trialling dates back in the diet. I haven’t been brave enough to try any yet but I hear that they taste pretty ok- accompanied with dairy free caramel glaze…..I was told I love you a lot.

We spent most of the day in the kitchen as there hasn’t been much new  baking action worth writing home about to my amazement my three-year old did most of the work.

scroll_2
kids love creating

Cinnamon Scrolls

grainfree, dairyfree, sugarfree

PREPARATION TIME              TOTAL TIME
20 MINUTES                    1 HOUR

pre heat oven to 190c

INGREDIENTS

Scroll

1 ½ Cup Blanched Almond Meal
1/3 Cup Coconut Flour
½ Cup Coconut Oil
½ Cup Water
1 egg

Filling

½ Cup Medjool Dates chopped (3 in total)
1/3 Cup chopped pecans
2 Tbsp cinnamon powder
2 Tbsp coconut Oil
1 Tbsp Ghee (opt out and increase coconut oil to 3 Tbsp)
1 Tbsp seed butter (I make sesame, pumpkin and sunflower seed)

Glaze/ AKA Dairy free condensed milk

400ml coconut cream
¼ cup maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla extract

 

INSTRUCTIONS

1. Add Flours, egg and water to bowl and combine

2. Melt oil and add.

3. Dust baking paper with coconut flour and knead dough until well combined

4. Roll between two sheets of baking paper until 1 cm thick.

5. Pop in the freezer for 10 minutes+ to set

6. Make filing by blending everything in food processor

7. Take dough out of freezer and spread filling all over
scroll_1
8. Roll into log very carefully (I had to press bits of mine together again- I think it wasn’t set)

9. Cut into segments

10. Bake for 30 minutes

scroll_3

Glaze

1. heat coconut cream on stove until all liquid

2. add maple syrup and whisk

3. simmer for 20 minutes, leave to cool

scrolls_4

 

Drizzle glaze over scrolls or brush over, set in fridge or devour then and there

Leave a Reply

